ICAR Institutes List

Can you list me the Indian Council of Agricultural Research institutes?


The Indian Council of Agricultural Research (ICAR) is an autonomous organization under the Department of Agricultural Research and Education, Ministry of Agriculture, government of India. It was established in 1929.


List of ICAR Institutes in India:


Crop Science Institutes

CRRI – Central Rice Research Institute, Cuttack

CRIJAF – Central Research Institute for Jute and Allied Fibres, Barrackpore

CTRI – Central Tobacco Research Institute, Rajahmundry

CICR – Central Institute of Cotton Research, Nagpur

IGFRI – Indian Grassland and Fodder Research Institute, Jhansi

IISR – Indian Institute of Sugarcane Research, Lucknow

IISR – Indian Institute of Spices Research, Marikunnu, Kerala

IIPR – Indian Institute of Pulses Research, Kanpur

IINRG – Indian Institute of Natural Resins and Gums, Ranchi

SBI – Sugarcane Breeding Institute, Coimbatore

VPKAS – Vivekananda Parvatiya Krishi Anusandhan Shala, Almora


Horticulture and Plantation Crops Institutes

IIHR – Indian Institute of Horticultural Research, Bangalore

IARI – Indian Agricultural Research Institute, New Delhi (deemed university)

CISH – Central Institute for Subtropical Horticulture, Lucknow

CIAH – Central Institute for Arid Horticulture, Bikaner, Rajasthan

CITH – Central Institute of Temperate Horticulture, Srinagar

CTCRI – Central Tuber Crops Research Institute, Trivandrum

CPCRI – Central Plantation Crops Research Institute, Kasargod

CIRH – Central Institute for Arid Horticulture, Bikaner

CPRI – Central Potato Research Institute, Shimla

IISR – Indian Institute of Spices Research, Calicut

IIVR – Indian Institute of Vegetable Research, Varanasi

CRIDA – Central Research Institute for Dryland Agriculture, Hyderabad


Resource Management Institutes

CSWCR & TI – Central Soil and Water Conservation Research and Training Institute, Dehradun

CSSRI – Central Soil Salinity Research Institute, Karnal

CAZRI – Central Arid Zone Research Institute, Jodhpur

CRIDA – Central Research Institute for Dry land Agriculture, Hyderabad

ICAR-NEH – ICAR Research Complex for North-Eastern Hill Region, Barapani

ICAR-GOA – ICAR Research Complex for Goa

ICAR-ER – ICAR Research Complex for Eastern Region, Patna

CARI – Central Agricultural Research Institute for Andaman and Nicobar Islands

IISS – Indian Institute of Soil Science, Bhopal

NAARM – National Academy of Agricultural Research Management, Hyderabad (National Institute)

NIAM – National Institute of Abiotic Stress Management, Malegaon, Pune


Technological Institutes

CIAE – Central Institute of Agricultural Engineering, Bhopal

CIRCT – Central Institute for Research on Cotton Technology, Bombay

NIRJAFT – National Institute of Research on Jute and Allied Fibre Technology, Calcutta

CIPET – Central Institute of Post-harvest Engineering and Technology, Ludhiana


Animal Science Institutes

CSWRI – Central Sheep and Wool Research Institute, Avikanagar

CIRG – Central Institute for Research on Goats, Mathura

CARI – Central Avian Research Institute, Izatnagar

CIRB – Central Institute for Research on Buffaloes, Hisar

NIANP – National Institute of Animal Nutrition and Physiology, Bangalore

NDRI – National Dairy Research Institute, Karnal, Haryana (deemed university)

IVRI – Indian Veterinary Research Institute, Bareilly, Uttar Pradesh (National Institute)


Fisheries Institutes

CIFRI – Central Inland Fisheries Research Institute, Barrackpore

CMFRI – Central Marine Fisheries Research Institute, Cochin

CIFT – Central Institute of Fisheries Technology, Cochin

CIBA – Central Institute of Brackish-water Aquaculture, Chennai

CIFA – Central Institute of Freshwater Aquaculture, Bhubaneshwar

CIFE – Central Institute of Fisheries Education, Mumbai (National Institute)


Social Science Institutes

IASRI – Indian Agricultural Statistics Research Institute, New Delhi

NCAP – National Centre for Agricultural Economics and Policy Research, New Delhi


Leave a Comment